Where these compounds actually come from, why the channel exists, where it fails and where it does not, and how to check the vial you bought instead of trusting a recommendation.
A grey market peptide is a compound sold lawfully as a research chemical, by a vendor who makes no medical claim, to a buyer who very often intends to use it themselves. It is not a black market — nothing is counterfeit by definition, and most sellers are not hiding. These are indexed websites taking card payments, publishing third-party certificates and competing openly on price.
Nor is it a legal market with light-touch oversight. When sold for human use, what it sells is an unapproved drug under a laboratory-reagent labelling convention, and the transaction sits outside every mechanism a medicine normally passes through: no marketing authorisation, no prescriber, no pharmacopoeial specification, no batch release by a regulator. FDA's own description of the channel is products "falsely labeled 'for research purposes' or 'not for human consumption'" that "have been sold directly to consumers for human use."
What makes it grey is the missing middle. In the pharmaceutical chain, someone between the factory and you is legally answerable for every batch: identity, purity, sterility, what the label says. In this market that link is simply absent. Nobody upstream is checking on your behalf, and no regulator will notice if a run comes out wrong.
The clearest way to see the gap is next to the lawful alternative, US pharmacy compounding.
| Grey-market research vendor | 503A or 503B compounding route | |
|---|---|---|
| What the product is | An unapproved new drug, when sold for human use | A compounded preparation for a named patient |
| Legal basis | None — the disclaimer is not a basis | 21 U.S.C. § 353a(b)(1)(A), three statutory prongs |
| Who must be involved | Nobody | A prescriber and a licensed pharmacist |
| Source of the bulk substance | Not stated | FDA-registered establishment, with a statutory certificate |
| Manufacturing standard | None declared | CGMP at 503B; USP chapters at 503A |
| Testing that is required | None | Identity, strength, quality and purity against a specification |
| Testing that typically happens | Voluntary HPLC purity on a finished vial | Statutory, on the bulk substance |
| Compounds available | Effectively all 118 tracked here | Four reach a prong: gonadorelin, oxytocin, tesamorelin, sermorelin |
| FDA approval | No | No — compounded drugs are not FDA-approved |
| Enforcement on record | Warning letters, notices of opportunity for hearing, infringement notices | Inspection and regulation |
Read the last two rows together, because they defeat the two arguments most often made about this market. A compounded product is not FDA-approved either — FDA says it does not verify the safety, effectiveness or quality of compounded drugs before they are marketed — so the lawful route is not a quality guarantee. And the grey channel's advantage is availability rather than legitimacy. The legal frame by country is in are peptides legal, and the lawful alternative in compounding pharmacy versus research peptide.
Because for most of them no lawful consumer route has ever existed, and demand did not wait. All but four of the compounds tracked here satisfy none of the three statutory prongs at 21 U.S.C. § 353a(b)(1)(A) — no USP or NF monograph, not a component of an approved drug, not on FDA's 503A bulks list, which holds no peptides. There is no light-touch version of the pharmaceutical route to fall back on. There is the route, or there is nothing.
That absence has three distinguishable causes, and they are worth separating, because vendor copy routinely presents one as though it were another.
A fourth pressure sits underneath all three: advisory votes are widely reported as approvals, and they are not. FDA staff recommended against all seven substances reviewed on 23 and 24 July 2026, and the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee voted against staff on six of them. FDA published no minutes or transcript, so every tally in circulation is press-derived, and nothing has been added to any list. The dated sequence is in the FDA peptide regulation timeline.
It describes the label rather than the transaction, and FDA has tested that on a named seller. The warning letter to Xcel Research LLC of 10 December 2024 named seven products, including sermorelin. The labelling read "FOR RESEARCH USE ONLY" and "NOT INTENDED FOR HUMAN USE." FDA held the products to be unapproved new drugs, in violation of sections 505(a) and 301(d) of the Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act anyway, because website evidence established human intended use.
The reasoning is what makes that letter generalisable rather than a one-off. Intended use is established by evidence about how a product is presented and sold — the usage guidance beside the disclaimer, the testimonials, the before-and-after imagery, the reconstitution instructions. None of that is neutralised by a sentence printed on a vial.
Sermorelin is the sharpest available illustration: the same molecule has a lawful compounding route and a warning letter attached at the same time, depending entirely on who supplies it and how. The disclaimer did not move it from one to the other.
Two boundaries. The enforcement documented here runs against sellers — warning letters, a notice of opportunity for hearing, infringement notices — and this page does not address a purchaser's position in any jurisdiction, because the documents do not. And this is legal information, not legal advice.
The single most common way people choose a vendor is to read that someone else was happy with theirs. That is evidence about a different vial than the one you will receive.
Read that third number carefully, because it cuts against the scare stories as much as it cuts against the vendor loyalty. The overwhelming majority of what gets tested is fine. The risk here is not a coin flip — it is a tail. And a tail is exactly the thing a recommendation cannot protect you from, because the person recommending their vendor almost certainly did not get a tail vial either.
Across 1,317 retatrutide tests from 265 shops, one shop's 24 results run from 64.1% to 100% purity — a 35.9 point range from one seller. Most of their batches are fine. One was not.
We aren't naming them, because the point isn't that this shop is bad — it is that "is this shop good?" is the wrong question. The right one is "what did this batch test at?"
Each production run is its own event: its own synthesis, purification, handling and storage. A vendor's reputation is an average over runs you will never receive. A certificate tied to your lot number is evidence about the vial in your hand.
Not on purity, which is the axis it advertises. Of 13,147 indexed results that report a purity figure, 99.7% came back at or above 95%. The failures sit on axes a purity test never touches: how much peptide is actually in the vial, whether it is the right molecule, and whether an injectable is free of pyrogens. Identity and pyrogens are the least visible of all, because they are usually not measured.
| Axis | How this market performs | Measured on most certificates? |
|---|---|---|
| Chromatographic purity | Consistently high | Near-universally |
| Fill quantity | Uncontrolled — recorded well above and well below label | Rarely |
| Identity | Cannot be established by the test usually supplied | Rarely — needs mass spectrometry, not purity |
| Salt form | Frequently undeclared, and it changes what was weighed | Sometimes |
| Endotoxin | An FDA Class I recall on record, 21 October 2025 | Rarely |
| Sterility | Rarely performed on material sold for injection | Rarely |
| Heavy metals | Unmeasured — neither clean nor dirty | Almost never |
That ordering is the argument. The market is good at the thing it can measure cheaply and publish, and unmeasured on the things that actually go wrong. A vendor competing on purity percentages is competing on the axis where serious suppliers already cluster near the top, which is why the number stopped discriminating between them. The measured record on purity, fill quantity, sterility and endotoxin — and the limits of Peptigrity's own dataset — is set out in grey market peptides, by the numbers.
Purity measures homogeneity, and a uniformly wrong molecule scores higher than a right one with a trace impurity. Bremelanotide (PT-141) sits at 1,025.2 Da and melanotan II at 1,024.18 Da — roughly one dalton apart, under 0.1%, below what HPLC or nominal-mass mass spectrometry resolves, and the two co-elute. A buyer paying for one and receiving the other holds a compound with regulatory findings against it, and the certificate looks perfect.
| Identity failure | The compound that demonstrates it | Why purity is blind to it |
|---|---|---|
| Near-identical mass | PT-141 versus melanotan II, about 1 Da apart | Below HPLC and nominal-mass MS resolution; they co-elute |
| Wrong chirality | FOXO4-DRI, whose design is its all-D configuration | D and L residues share formula and mass and co-elute on achiral columns |
| Sequence ambiguity | PEG-MGF marketed as ...STFEEHK where UniProt isoform 4 ends ...STFEERK | A 19-dalton difference on roughly 2,850 |
| Sequence ambiguity | Kisspeptin-54 published by at least one supplier with arginine where UniProt Q15726 has proline | Not a purity question at all |
| Missing metal | GHK-Cu, where copper is about 18% of the molecule | HPLC detects no metals; copper-free GHK returns an excellent figure |
| Missing polymer | PEG-MGF, where PEG is polydisperse in 44 Da steps | A single clean peak arguably indicates the PEG is absent |
The last two rows invert normal reading. A perfect single-peak purity result on PEG-MGF is a warning rather than a reassurance, because genuinely PEGylated material carries a chain-length distribution. Identity is settled by a batch-matched mass spectrum, not by a percentage — the method is in mass spectrometry for peptides.
Salt form belongs alongside identity for a regulatory reason as well as a chemical one. FDA's position is that salt forms "are different active ingredients" than those used in the approved drugs, so a vial of semaglutide sodium is not, in the agency's view, the substance in the approved product. The mass arithmetic is in TFA versus acetate versus amidate salt forms.
Every risk the pharmaceutical system normally absorbs, and one that system does not create at all. In an approved supply chain, identity, quantity, sterility and pyrogen load are guaranteed upstream by a manufacturer under regulatory obligation, and a prescriber decides whether the compound is appropriate at all. In this channel each of those transfers to the buyer, who has one voluntary document to work from and no recourse if it is wrong.
| Risk | Who carries it in an approved supply chain | Who carries it here |
|---|---|---|
| Is it the right molecule | Manufacturer, under specification | The buyer, via a document that usually cannot answer it |
| Is the amount right | Manufacturer, under fill control | The buyer, on a market with no fill control |
| Is it free of pyrogens | Manufacturer, under CGMP | The buyer, on a market with a Class I endotoxin recall |
| Is it appropriate at all | A prescriber | Nobody |
| Does the evidence support the use | A regulator, at approval | Nobody — most compounds here have no human trial |
| Recourse if it is wrong | Recall, reporting, liability | None on file |
| Legal exposure | — | Not documented for purchasers; enforcement here runs against sellers |
The row with no counterpart is the one worth sitting with: nobody in this channel is asked whether the compound should be used at all. FDA's evaluation of PEG-MGF states that the agency "has not identified any human exposure data on drug products containing PEG-MGF administered via any route of administration." That is a regulator reporting no information at all, on a compound sold openly in this market.
Headline vial prices are close to meaningless on their own. A cheaper vial containing less than its label says is not cheaper, and two vials at the same price can differ several-fold in what you actually get per milligram once concentration and dose are worked through.
We deliberately publish no price list. Prices move constantly, and a stale number presented as current is worse than no number. What we publish instead is the arithmetic, so you can run it against whatever you are actually being quoted today:
A vial's real cost is price ÷ (tested milligrams × tested purity). Anything else is a sticker.
Retatrutide is the compound this market is most preoccupied with right now, and it is the clearest illustration of the whole problem: it is still in clinical trials, which means there is no approved product, no pharmacy supply, and no official batch anywhere to compare against. Every vial in circulation is a research-chemical vial.
It is also, for the same reason, the most-tested compound in our library — 1,317 third-party results, which is the only substitute available for a supply chain nobody is auditing.
This site cannot tell you where to buy anything, and does not try to. What it can do is turn "who should I trust?" into a question with an answer.
A certificate reporting a high purity figure and nothing else has answered the easiest question in the set and left four open. The sequence that matters is identity first, because a purity figure on the wrong molecule is worthless; then quantity, because that is where this market fails most often; then endotoxin on anything injectable; then purity last, and only to see whether it is anomalously low.
| Check | What it confirms | How | Red flag |
|---|---|---|---|
| Batch-matched mass spectrum | The molecule is the one on the label | MS or MS/MS on your lot number | Purity offered as the answer to an identity question |
| Lot number matching your vial | The document describes your material | Lot on the certificate matches the vial | No lot number, or a specimen certificate from an earlier run |
| Quantitative fill or net content | Milligrams of peptide, not of powder | Quantitative assay or amino acid analysis | Blank |
| LAL endotoxin | No pyrogens, on an injectable | Batch LAL result | A blank field — an unanswered question, not a passed test |
| Salt form declared | What was actually weighed | Named on the certificate | Not stated |
| Named third-party laboratory | Someone other than the seller measured it | Laboratory named on the document | An in-house document presented as third-party |
| Purity, read last | Homogeneity of detected species | Against the compound's published results | A purity promise with no batch result behind it |
The specimen-certificate row is the most common defect and the easiest to check. A single short-filled vial can sit in a batch history where every other document looks entirely reassuring — batch identity is the whole difference. The full pattern list is in red flags in peptide certificates of analysis; the arithmetic behind label versus contents is in net peptide content, and the endotoxin assay in endotoxin testing and the LAL assay.
Measurement, not assurance. A laboratory runs a defined assay on the sample it was sent and reports what the instrument measured. It can confirm a mass, quantify fill, detect pyrogens and state a salt form. It does not visit the manufacturer, select the sample, audit the production process, or say anything about vials it never received — so it cannot tell you whether the rest of the batch matches, whether the next batch will, or whether the compound works.
Those limits share one cause: the vendor chooses which sample goes to the laboratory and which certificate gets published. That is the largest limitation on the dataset this platform is built from, and it applies to our numbers as much as anyone's. The gap between a batch result and a quality system is developed in third-party peptide testing labs and GMP versus non-GMP manufacturing.
The grey market's reputation and its actual failure profile do not match. It is not, on the whole, selling fake peptides; the synthesis is competent and the certificates are largely real. It is selling material in vials nobody is required to weigh accurately, prepared for injection without anyone required to measure pyrogens, under a disclaimer that FDA has already held, in a named warning letter, does not describe the transaction it accompanies.
That is a more specific problem than "unregulated," and it points to a more specific response. The measurements that would close it — batch-matched mass spectrometry, quantitative fill, LAL endotoxin, a declared salt form — all exist, and they are absent from most certificates because no buyer has made them a condition of purchase. Until that changes, the honest summary of this market is that its most published number is its least informative one.
Peptigrity does not sell, supply, source, or recommend any compound, and nothing on this page is medical or legal advice. We index third-party lab results and we take no money from vendors.