Retatrutide has no approved label anywhere in the world. That means the mechanics of an injection can be explained precisely, and the amount cannot be, and this page keeps those two things apart from the first line.
The arithmetic below is exact because arithmetic is exact. The numbers people put into it are a different matter: every retatrutide dose figure in circulation traces to a 338-person phase 2 trial or to community practice, and no regulator has established a dose. Run your own figures through the retatrutide calculator. Retatrutide sits in the weight loss and metabolic peptides category as its most-tested and least-evidenced compound.
Is there an established retatrutide dose?
No. Retatrutide is not approved anywhere we could verify, it is absent from FDA's novel approvals lists for 2025 (46 drugs) and 2026 (30 drugs, current through 5 August 2026), and as of 11 August 2026 PubMed contains no phase 3 retatrutide results paper. There is therefore no label, no regulator-reviewed dose, and no authoritative titration schedule. Every amount in circulation is either a phase 2 trial arm or a convention, and this page will label which.
That absence extends further than most coverage acknowledges. Retatrutide has never been approved, so it has never been in shortage, so no compounding pathway has ever existed for it — the shortage-based route that briefly legitimised compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide never applied here at all. Retatrutide sold outside a clinical trial or an expanded access programme is an unapproved new drug.
One route does exist with a clinician attached. ClinicalTrials.gov carries NCT07629401, "Pre-approval Expanded Access of Retatrutide," with status AVAILABLE — sometimes called compassionate use, operating through physicians and the sponsor rather than through vendors. It is not approval. The access picture is set out in do you need a prescription for retatrutide, and the evidence argument in the 24.2% figure comes from a 338-person phase 2 trial.
Where does every retatrutide dose figure in circulation come from?
Four sources between them account for every retatrutide amount you will encounter, and only one of them is a trial. The phase 2 study administered 1, 4, 8 and 12 mg as separate randomised arms. The 28% at 80 weeks figure traces to press reporting of a company statement in May 2026, which we could not verify against a primary source. The 30.3% at 104 weeks figure has no source we could find at all. Everything else is convention.
Route | Amount | Frequency | Duration | Evidence level |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Subcutaneous | 1 mg | Once weekly | 48 weeks | Human RCT — phase 2 arm, n=338 |
Subcutaneous | 4 mg | Once weekly | 48 weeks | Human RCT — phase 2 arm, n=338 |
Subcutaneous | 8 mg | Once weekly | 48 weeks | Human RCT — phase 2 arm, n=338 |
Subcutaneous | 12 mg | Once weekly | 48 weeks | Human RCT — phase 2 arm, n=338 |
Any escalation ladder in 1–2 mg increments | Chosen by the user | Chosen by the user | Chosen by the user | Convention — no trial tested a ladder |
Any amount attributed to phase 3 | — | — | — | No phase 3 results exist |
Any regulator-approved dose | — | — | — | None exists anywhere |
Read the evidence-level column rather than the amount column, because that is where the information is. The four trial rows describe randomised groups that were each given a fixed amount and compared against placebo. They do not describe a route from one to the next, and a trial that assigns people to 1 mg or 12 mg is not a trial of climbing from 1 mg to 12 mg.
The pattern by which a phase 2 number becomes a phase 3 number in public is worth naming, because it is entirely ordinary at every step. A company statement is reported in the press, the press figure is quoted without its provenance, the duration drifts, and within a few links the result is attributed to a trial that has published nothing. How dosing evidence is tiered across this market generally is set out in the peptide dosage guide.
What did the phase 2 trial actually administer?
One trial supplies the entire human dose record. Jastreboff et al., "Triple-Hormone-Receptor Agonist Retatrutide for Obesity — A Phase 2 Trial," New England Journal of Medicine 2023;389(6):514–526 (PMID 37366315), randomised 338 participants for 48 weeks, double-blind and placebo-controlled, at 1, 4, 8 and 12 mg weekly. The 12 mg arm produced −24.2%. That is a phase 2 result, correctly reported and routinely mislabelled.
Arm | 24 weeks | 48 weeks |
|---|---|---|
1 mg | −7.2% | −8.7% |
4 mg | — | −17.1% |
8 mg | — | −22.8% |
12 mg | −17.5% | −24.2% |
Placebo | −1.6% | −2.1% |
At least 15% weight loss was achieved by 60–83% of participants across doses, against 2% on placebo. Adverse events were dose-related and gastrointestinal, mostly mild to moderate. The discontinuation rate is not reported in the abstract, and we are not quoting one — which matters more here than it sounds, because glucagon receptor agonism adds nausea and vomiting risk on top of an already emetogenic class, and the number that would tell you how many people left because of it is missing.
Phase 3 has published nothing. The TRIUMPH programme has a design paper and no results, and the head-to-head against tirzepatide is registered and unpublished — set out trial by trial in the TRIUMPH programme. A 48-week trial duration is not a protocol length, and four separate dose arms are not four steps of one schedule.
How do you reconstitute a retatrutide vial?
Concentration is peptide mass divided by diluent volume, and this part of the page is answerable with certainty because it is arithmetic rather than pharmacology. A 20 mg vial reconstituted with 2 mL of bacteriostatic water gives 10 mg/mL. No label specifies a diluent volume for retatrutide, because no label exists — the only regulator-backed peptide reconstitution instruction in this fact base belongs to tesamorelin, a different compound entirely. The volume is your choice and it cannot be undone.
Worked example 1 — concentration
Step | Value |
|---|---|
Input: vial label | 20 mg |
Input: diluent added | 2 mL |
Calculation | 20 mg ÷ 2 mL |
Result | 10 mg/mL, or 10,000 mcg/mL |
That is an example of a calculation, not a recommendation about an amount. Write the result on the vial with the date, because nothing about the liquid reveals it afterwards. The reconstitution calculator performs the same division and the bacteriostatic water calculator runs it backwards from a target concentration.
One thing this page cannot give you is an in-use period. No approved label sets one for retatrutide, and no published stability data in this fact base covers it, so any "discard after N days" figure attached to a research vial is borrowed from a compound that had a label. The physical procedure — swabbing, running the diluent down the wall, swirling rather than shaking — is in reconstituting peptides step by step.
How do you convert a retatrutide amount into units?
Units on a U-100 syringe are volume markings, so one unit is 0.01 mL and units equal milligrams divided by mg/mL, multiplied by 100. At 10 mg/mL, 1 mg is 10 units and 12 mg is 120 units — more than a 1 mL barrel holds. Retatrutide's distinctive arithmetic problem sits at the other end: the cheapest vials per milligram are the largest, and a large vial in a small volume pushes small amounts below the resolution of any syringe.
Worked example 2 — one concentration across the phase 2 arms
Amount | Volume at 10 mg/mL | U-100 units |
|---|---|---|
1 mg | 0.1 mL | 10 units |
4 mg | 0.4 mL | 40 units |
8 mg | 0.8 mL | 80 units |
12 mg | 1.2 mL | 120 units — will not fit a 1 mL barrel |
Worked example 3 — the same 1 mg amount from a large vial
Step | 60 mg in 2 mL | 60 mg in 6 mL |
|---|---|---|
Concentration | 30 mg/mL | 10 mg/mL |
Volume for 1 mg | 0.033 mL | 0.1 mL |
U-100 units | 3.3 units — poor resolution | 10 units |
The fix in the left-hand column is more diluent, not a steadier hand, and it has to be chosen before anything is mixed. Per-milligram price falls steeply with vial size on this compound — a $6.67/mg median in the 30–65 mg tier against $11.50/mg at 5–10 mg — so the economically obvious vial is also the one most likely to produce unreadable draws at small amounts. Run both columns through the retatrutide calculator, and the general form of the arithmetic is in how to calculate peptide doses.
What does a fill variance of −4% to +22.5% do to a small increment?
Quantity variance on retatrutide runs −4% to +22.5% against label across 1,150 independent lab tests on this platform, with most results within ±5%. Unlike tirzepatide, where the recorded variance is one-directional and always over, retatrutide's runs both ways — so a vial can hold less than the label claims as easily as more. Against increments discussed in 1–2 mg steps, the top of that range is more than a step.
Intended amount | At −4% | At +22.5% |
|---|---|---|
1 mg | 0.96 mg | 1.23 mg |
2 mg | 1.92 mg | 2.45 mg |
4 mg | 3.84 mg | 4.90 mg |
8 mg | 7.68 mg | 9.80 mg |
12 mg | 11.52 mg | 14.70 mg |
The bottom row is the one to sit with. An intended 12 mg — the highest amount any randomised trial has administered — delivers 14.7 mg from a vial at the top of the recorded range, which is an amount no trial has tested at all. And the underfill direction is not benign either: it produces an unknown exposure that looks like a known one, which is the harder error to notice because nothing feels wrong.
Purity does not answer this question. A vial can sit inside retatrutide's very tight 99.52% to 99.98% purity band and still be 22.5% over on quantity, because the two measurements answer different questions — the point made in full in why 10 mg isn't 10 mg. The one-directional version of this problem, on a compound that does have a label, is the subject of the tirzepatide dosing guide.
Which injection sites are used, and what is actually known about rotation?
The sites are describable; the schedule for moving between them is not. Abdomen and thigh are named on an approved peptide label — bremelanotide's — while upper arm and upper buttock are convention rather than label. What is measured is the consequence of concentrating injections: injection site reactions occurred in 25% of patients on tesamorelin's approved label, with trial tables recording 17% against 6% on placebo across 543 tesamorelin and 263 placebo patients over 26 weeks.
Site | Named on an approved peptide label? | Provenance | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
Abdomen | Yes — bremelanotide's label names it | Approved label (another compound) | Broadest area, easiest to inspect, away from the navel |
Thigh | Yes — bremelanotide's label names it | Approved label (another compound) | Front and outer aspect; alternates naturally with the abdomen |
Upper arm | No | Convention, not label | Harder to self-administer and to inspect |
Upper buttock | No | Convention, not label | Not self-visible |
Any site with a lump, bruise or reaction | — | — | Not usable. Skip it and record why |
A rotation interval in weeks | — | Not sourced | No trial has compared rotation schemes for any peptide in this fact base |
Two absences belong in that table rather than in a footnote. No trial has compared rotation schemes, so every "return to a site after N weeks" figure in circulation is convention rather than measurement. And no approved peptide label in this fact base specifies a needle gauge for a self-administered research vial, so this platform does not publish one. What is measurable is the reaction rate itself, and bremelanotide's label records 13.2% against 8.4%.
The mechanism is straightforward even though the technique addressing it has never been tested: tissue injected repeatedly is tissue injured repeatedly, and a 25% reaction rate under supervised conditions with correct technique is a floor rather than a ceiling. General technique is in how to inject peptides, and the route argument in subcutaneous versus intramuscular injection. Anything about your own tissue, symptoms or medication is a clinician's question.
Which retatrutide procedure errors actually cause harm?
The error that defines this compound is not mechanical. Treating a phase 2 dose arm as a titration target imports authority that does not exist, and no amount of careful measuring corrects it. Beneath that sit the ordinary arithmetic failures: a units figure copied without its concentration, a large vial reconstituted to a resolution the syringe cannot read, and an open vial topped up so that every prior calculation is silently wrong.
Treating a trial arm as a target. The phase 2 assigned people to 1, 4, 8 or 12 mg and compared each against placebo. It did not test a route between them, and no regulator has reviewed any of them as a dose.
Copying a units figure with no concentration attached. The same 40-unit mark delivers 4 mg at 10 mg/mL and 12 mg at 30 mg/mL. Without the concentration the figure is unusable and cannot be repaired.
Reconstituting a large vial into a small volume. A 60 mg vial in 2 mL puts a 1 mg amount at 3.3 units. Fix it with diluent volume before mixing, not with judgement afterwards.
Topping up an open vial. Every unit figure calculated before the top-up is now wrong, and nothing on the vial records it.
Reading a clean certificate as an answer about dosing. Purity establishes that a vendor sold the right molecule. It says nothing about efficacy, dosing or long-term safety.
Doubling after a missed injection. There is no validated schedule to catch up to, so there is no missed-dose rule — the reasoning is in the retatrutide missed dose protocol.
Reusing or recapping a needle. A needle through a stopper is blunted and no longer sterile, and recapping is behind most domestic needlestick injuries. Disposal is covered in how to dispose of peptide syringes safely.
Injecting into a lump, a bruise or a reactive patch belongs on that list too, and it is the one error visible while it is happening. The adverse-event picture as reported so far sits in retatrutide side effects.
What can a certificate of analysis not tell you here?
A certificate answers identity and quantity, and on retatrutide the gap between what it answers and what people want it to answer is unusually wide. This platform holds 1,150 independent lab tests of a drug that no regulator has approved anywhere and that has no published phase 3 result. The supply chain is better characterised than the medicine. High-quality manufacture of a molecule with 338 people of phase 2 data behind it is exactly that, and no more.
What a certificate does answer is worth using properly. Mass spectrometry at 4,731.0 Da distinguishes retatrutide from tirzepatide at 4,813.0 — 82 daltons apart, a gap a mass spectrometer resolves instantly and an HPLC purity figure does not address at all. Quantitative content testing answers the fill question. The salt form states what was weighed. None of those three is a statement about whether the compound works, at what amount, or with what long-term profile.
One specification point belongs here rather than in a table. Retatrutide's CAS number is commonly quoted as 2381089-83-2, which we could not verify against a chemical registry — PubChem's record does not expose one, and the figure circulating on vendor pages comes from secondary sources. Small on its own, and notable in aggregate on a compound where much of what is quoted as specification traces to nowhere authoritative. See mass spectrometry for peptides.
Which retatrutide dosing claims survive the evidence?
Three of these nine claims hold, and two of the three are about arithmetic rather than about retatrutide. The phase 2 arms are correctly reported at 1, 4, 8 and 12 mg, a U-100 unit is 0.01 mL by definition, and purity on this compound is genuinely high and genuinely narrow. The rest fail: there is no approved dose, no phase 3 result, no tested rotation interval, and no missed-dose rule, because there is no schedule for one to belong to.
Claim | Evidence | Verdict |
|---|---|---|
The phase 2 tested 1, 4, 8 and 12 mg weekly | Jastreboff et al., n=338, 48 weeks | Correct — and phase 2 |
There is a standard retatrutide titration schedule | No approval and no label anywhere | False |
The 24.2% figure comes from phase 3 TRIUMPH-1 | No TRIUMPH results publication exists | False |
30.3% at 104 weeks | No source found | Unsourced |
28% at 80 weeks | Press reporting of a company statement, May 2026 | Not independently verified |
A clean certificate means the dose is safe | Purity is not efficacy, dosing or long-term safety | Category error |
Rotate sites every N weeks | No trial has compared rotation schemes | Convention only |
Retatrutide can be legally compounded | Never approved, so never in shortage | No pathway has ever existed |
Retatrutide is banned in sport | Not named on the 2026 list, but see S0 | Arguably prohibited |
That last row needs its hedge stated rather than buried. WADA's S0 catch-all prohibits substances "with no current approval by any governmental regulatory health authority for human therapeutic use," expressly including "drugs under pre-clinical or clinical development." Retatrutide holds no approval anywhere, so on the plain text S0 applies — but that is our reading rather than a published WADA ruling, and an athlete should seek a determination.
What do 1,150 independent lab tests and the price data show?
The Purity Index records retatrutide at 99.67% average across 1,150 independent tests (verified August 2026) — the largest test dataset on this platform — from Janoshik, Freedom Diagnostics, Bioviridian, Kovera and ILS, across 230 shops selling. Individual results run 99.52% to 99.98%, an unusually tight distribution. Quantity variance runs −4% to +22.5%, with most results within ±5%. Peptigrity tracks 530 shops and 11,852 independent lab tests across 118 peptides, with 1,283 community reviews (verified August 2026).
Vial size | Median price per mg (verified August 2026) |
|---|---|
5–10 mg | $11.50/mg |
12–24 mg | $8.23/mg |
30–65 mg | $6.67/mg |
All sizes | Median $8.00/mg · lowest $2.33/mg on a 40 mg vial |
Retatrutide price data shows 15 shops in stock across 53 compared offers with vial prices from $24.99 to $500.00 (verified 31 July 2026). Those figures exclude shipping, taxes and customs, coupon codes, bulk tiers, multi-vial kits and account-gated pricing. Trust scores weight community reviews and independently verified HPLC purity equally at 50% each, with no financial relationship influencing the ranking. Individual results are searchable in the lab test database, and vendor detail sits on the retatrutide compound page.
One peer-reviewed analysis bears directly on all of this and we cannot summarise it. Piatkowski, Craven, Cornell and Ferris report on the "Composition and Labelling Accuracy of Products Sold as Retatrutide in Australia" in Drug and Alcohol Review, September 2026, DOI 10.1111/dar.70231, PMID 42559975. We verified the citation and could not obtain the abstract, so we are not characterising what it concludes. It is the closest peer-reviewed analogue to what this platform does, and it is worth reading directly. The adverse-event picture as reported so far is in retatrutide side effects.
How do you check a retatrutide figure before you act on it?
Six checks apply, and the last one is the one no label-anchored article in this cluster needs. Mass spectrometry confirms identity at 4,731.0 Da, quantitative content testing confirms the fill, HPLC is read against a 99.52%–99.98% band rather than against 100%, and the salt form states what was weighed. The sixth check is provenance: where the dose figure in front of you came from, and whether that source is a trial, a press report or nobody.
Check | What it confirms | How | Red flag |
|---|---|---|---|
Provenance of the dose figure | Whether an amount has any source at all | Trace it to a trial, a press report or nothing | Any schedule presented as standard — none exists |
Mass spectrometry | 4,731.0 Da — separates it from tirzepatide at 4,813.0 | Batch-matched CoA carrying the MS result | HPLC alone; the two are 82 Da apart |
Fill accuracy | The vial matches the label | Quantitative content testing on your batch | +22.5% is on record against 1–2 mg increments |
HPLC purity | Proportion of the intended peptide | Third-party CoA from a lab with a retatrutide record | A result outside the 99.52%–99.98% band |
Salt form | Which mass was weighed | Stated on the CoA | Not stated |
Concentration on the vial | Every later amount can be calculated | Written at reconstitution, with the date | An open vial with no concentration recorded |
The first row is the one worth performing first, because the other five are checks on a vial and it is a check on a number. A perfectly verified vial containing an amount nobody has validated is a precisely measured guess. The vendor-level walkthrough is in where to buy retatrutide.
The trial that would settle this
Nothing about retatrutide's dosing is settled beyond 338 participants over 48 weeks. The TRIUMPH programme has published a design paper describing four registrational trials and more than 5,800 participants — Giblin et al., Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism, January 2026, PMID 41090431 — and no results. Two further trials are registered, active and not recruiting. The most consequential gap sounds the smallest: the discontinuation rate at effective doses is not reported in the phase 2 abstract.
Element | Status |
|---|---|
A regulator-reviewed dose | None exists anywhere in the world |
Phase 3 weight-loss results | TRIUMPH-1 and -2 registered; no publication |
Cardiovascular and kidney outcomes | NCT06383390 active, not recruiting |
Head-to-head against tirzepatide | NCT06662383 active, not recruiting |
Long-term durability | Beyond 48 weeks, unpublished |
Discontinuation rate at effective doses | Not reported in the phase 2 abstract |
A tested rotation interval | No trial has compared rotation schemes for any peptide here |
Every drug in this class shows its tolerability problem at scale rather than in a 338-person study, and glucagon receptor agonism adds nausea and vomiting risk on top of an already emetogenic mechanism. That is the row a titration schedule would need before it could honestly be published.
Frequently Asked Questions
What dose was used in the retatrutide trial?
The phase 2 trial randomised 338 participants to 1, 4, 8 or 12 mg weekly for 48 weeks, against placebo. The 12 mg arm produced 24.2% mean weight loss and the 1 mg arm 8.7%. Those are four separate randomised groups rather than four steps of an escalation, and no regulator has reviewed any of them as a dose.
How much bacteriostatic water goes into a retatrutide vial?
There is no standard volume and no label to specify one, so the choice is yours. Twenty milligrams in 2 mL gives 10 mg/mL. The consideration that matters is resolution: a 60 mg vial in 2 mL puts a 1 mg amount at 3.3 units, while the same vial in 6 mL puts it at 10 units.
How many units is 4 mg of retatrutide?
It depends entirely on the concentration. At 10 mg/mL, 4 mg is 0.4 mL, which is 40 units on a U-100 syringe. At 30 mg/mL the same amount is 13.3 units. Any units figure quoted without a concentration cannot be used, and cannot be corrected without knowing the vial size and the diluent volume.
Where do people inject, and how often should sites change?
Abdomen and thigh are the sites named on an approved peptide label, bremelanotide's; upper arm and upper buttock are convention. On rotation frequency there is no evidence-based answer, because no trial has compared rotation schemes for any peptide in this fact base. What is measured is the consequence: 25% injection site reactions on tesamorelin's label under supervised conditions.
Does 1,150 clean lab tests mean retatrutide is safe?
No. Those tests establish that vendors are broadly selling the correct molecule at roughly the stated quantity. They say nothing about efficacy, dosing, long-term safety, or how a 338-person phase 2 result will hold up in a programme enrolling more than 5,800 participants — and the discontinuation rate at effective doses is not reported in the phase 2 abstract.
Is there any legal route to retatrutide?
Not through a vendor. Retatrutide has never been approved, so it has never been in shortage, so no compounding pathway has ever existed for it. A pre-approval expanded access programme is listed as available under NCT07629401, which operates through physicians and the sponsor. Everything else is an unapproved new drug.
Where the mechanics end and the missing label begins
This page explains how a retatrutide injection works mechanically and refuses to tell you how much to inject, and that division is the honest one rather than a cautious one. The arithmetic is deterministic — 20 mg in 2 mL is 10 mg/mL, and 4 mg of that is 40 units — while the amount you put into it has no regulator behind it anywhere in the world. Precision on the second number does not transfer to the first.
Hold the three facts that make this compound different from its cluster siblings. Semaglutide and tirzepatide have approved labels and this one does not. Every efficacy figure in circulation traces to 338 people over 48 weeks, or to a press report of a company statement, or to nothing at all. And this platform holds 1,150 independent lab tests of a drug no regulator has approved — the supply chain is better documented than the medicine, which is the single most useful thing anyone can tell you about retatrutide. Whether to use it at all is a question for the evidence and for a clinician, not for a calculator. The cross-compound comparison sits in retatrutide versus tirzepatide and semaglutide.
Browse the weight loss and metabolic peptides category, or our complete peptide guide with 118 compounds (verified August 2026). For per-injection volume, use the retatrutide calculator alongside the reconstitution calculator. Compare shops through independent lab tests and community-verified shop reviews.
This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice. Peptides discussed may be investigational compounds not approved by the FDA (or equivalent regulators in your jurisdiction) for human use. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider before using any peptide or research compound. Peptigrity is an independent review platform and does not sell, endorse, or recommend specific products or vendors.
